Review: Country Affairs by Zara Stoneley

25624573

AMAZON UK

BLURB: from Amazon

Welcome to Tippermere for the wedding of the year…

Scatty but loveable Lottie Brinkley is famous throughout the village for her disorganised personality, so when she steps up to plan the perfect wedding the only likely outcome is disaster.

When her globetrotting, love cheat of an ex, Todd, literally crashes the wedding on a not-so-noble steed, things definitely look set to take a turn for the scandalous. As rumours of why he’s back spread through the village quicker than the stable girl can drop her knickers, is Lottie’s future with sexy eventer Rory Steel about to fall at the next fence?

With a wave of unexpected pregnancies, steamy shenanigans in the hay and a farrier with more than shoeing horses on his mind, will Lottie ever be ready to take on the coveted title of Lady of the Manor and restore the Estate to its former glory?

As the heart of the village, Tipping House Estate, makes its move into the 21st Century, pulses start to race in a novel packed full of charm, hunky stallions (the guys that is), and a daring plan that just has to succeed…

REVIEW:

I read this book, not realising it was part two of The Tippermere Series, and although I now have to go and find Stable Mates, I think it works well as a standalone novel.

The story is reminiscent of Jilly Cooper, but more Chick-Lit than Bonk-Buster (there’s a brief mention of sex, but that’s about it), with a plot revolving around the wealthy and good-looking, and of course, horses. I was a bit confused about the importance of some characters (such a Tom) but that might have been because I haven’t read the first part of the series yet! I loved Lottie though, and her scatty nature. I wasn’t sure about her relationship with Todd, Rory and Mick, or who she would end up with, but I did like the ending and will be reading Country Rivals (part three) after I’ve read Stable Mates and truly got to know the village and its residents.

I’ve given it four-stars for a couple of reasons. One was that this wasn’t a book that I could read in one go – it took me three months to read – but once the story got going, it was a lot easier. Another was the fact that it was written in third-person omnipotent, so there were a few occasions where I had to re-read a paragraph to understand whose POV I was reading from. There were a few typos here and there which left me a little confused but nothing awful, and all easily missed – I couldn’t even tell you where they were off the top of my head. (Even Jilly Cooper has typos!) None of that detracts from the plot though.

Zara Stoneley is obviously a very talented author, and I will be seeking out her other books, including her more erotic titles. I would recommend The Tippermere Series for anyone who likes a ‘Lust in the Dust’ type novel.

heartheartheartheartempty heart

One thought on “Review: Country Affairs by Zara Stoneley

Leave a Reply

